About KSU

Kogi State University, located at Anyigba, is the University of State, Nigeria. It was established in 1999 by Prince Abubakar Audu, the former governor of the state. At the time of its establishment, It was named Prince Abubakar Audu University (PAAU) in 2002 and later renamed Kogi State University in 2003 (KSU).

Professor S.K. Okwute (Professor of Chemistry) was the pioneer Vice Chancellor (2000 - 2005) and currently back to University of Abuja. Professor F.S. Idachaba (OFR) Professor of Agric-Economics took over between 2005 to 2008 and has now retired to work in his foundation (F.S. Idachaba Foundation for Research and Scholarship). The incumbent Vice Chancellor is Professor Hassan S. Isah (Professor of Chemical Pathology), from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, took over in October, 2008 and yet remain the famous Vice Chancellor.

The University commenced academic activities in April, 2000 in six Faculties. Namely; Faculties of Agriculture, Arts and Humanities, Law, Management Sciences, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences. Presently, more new faculties has been added such like: Faculty of Medicine with offices and laboratory complexes and Faculty of Education under the administration of Professor Hassan S. Isah in 2013 comprising of 35 Departments. The Centre for Pre-Degree and Diploma Studies was established under the present University administration to run Diploma and Pre-Degree Programmes. Students of the Pre-Degree Programme could gain admission into degree programme if they are successful in the internal exams and need not write the Post-UTME exams but most have at least 180 JAMB cut-off mark.

Profile of the VC, KSU
Prof. Hassan S. Isah

Professor Hassan Salihu Isah, Vice Chancellor, Kogi State University, Anyigba, was born on 24th August, 1952, at Akwu in Ankpa Local Government Area of Kogi State.  He is a Clinical Biochemist and Professor of Chemical Pathology. He began his early education at the Makaranta Mallam Umoru Qur’anic School, from 1958 to 1960.  He started formal education at the Igala Native Authority (INA) Primary School, Ankpa in 1961 where he completed primary one and two in one year.   He spent only five instead of seven years in Primary School, passing the Common Entrance Examination into Secondary School in his sixth year in 1965.

Professor Isah then proceedesd to Government Secondary School (now Abdulazeez Memorial College), Okene in 1966, completing his post-primary education in 1970 in Division One, an academic record at the time.He had his University education at the University of Ibadan (UI) between 1971 and 1975, graduating with a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc), Biochemistry, 2nd Class (Honours), Upper Division in 1975.

            The Chemical Pathologist went beyond the shores of Nigeria for his M.Sc. (Clinical Biochemistry) at the University of Newcastle Upon-Tyne in the United Kingdom, between 1977 and 1978. The Vice Chancellor obtained a Ph.D (Chemical Pathology) from Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria in 1983.   A decade later, precisely in 1993, he obtained Chartered status with the Royal society of Chemistry, CChem, FRSC (London).



*Silence must be observed in and around the Library premises.

*Bags of all kinds should not be brought into the library.

*There shall be no smoking in the library.

*Edibles must not be brought into the library.

*No book should be marked, defaced, or damaged in any way.

*All persons leaving the Library must show books or papers in their possession at the entrance permit.

*User’s Library cards are not transferable

*Making and receiving of phone calls is prohibited in the Library.

* Library users must be switched off or put on silence.



Head, e-Library Unit


Technical Librarian

Other Members of the Library Staff

Johnson O. Omera

Maxwell Charity Ezinne

                    Yemi-Peters, O.

Omale, Ayefu IBN

Yahaya, Dauda O.

Ejigbo, Danladi S.